This is the essential question for Unit 1. 
How do you believe religious freedom motivated the lives of those coming to the new world?
BrittanyR
9/2/2013 05:27:04 am

I believe religious freedom, was the main reason those coming to the new world decided to do so. They intended on being free to think their own way and believe in which ever religion they chose. Therefore, they were motivated to move to a new place that didn't have the rules of their homeland.

Reply
BrittanyR
9/8/2013 08:26:00 am

what do I do if no one replies?

Reply
Ms. E.
9/9/2013 12:49:26 pm

Each student is required to post a comment and respond to 2 other comments. Not all comments will receive responses.

MolliF
9/10/2013 07:45:07 am

Although they had their own right to choose their religion, every certain religion had their own expectations and requirements.

Reply
BrittanyR
9/10/2013 10:17:26 am

True, but I don't think they were forced to believe in any certain religion.

BenMcC
9/13/2013 03:35:55 am

I feel like everyone who came here to worship freely were hypocrites they then killed the natives and destroyed their religion.

Reply
BrittanyR
9/14/2013 05:05:27 am

Yeah, I guess that is kind of hypocritical.

DrayS
9/5/2013 12:38:45 pm

I believe religious freedom motivated the newcomers a lot actually. They got to experienced the new world in a whole new way like wilderness and exploration while at the same time believing in whatever they wanted to believe. At the same time while they were worshiping and what not they probably got less bagged on unlike what they may of had back home. Thanks to the new world they probably also got to build more churches and have more freedom to express their faith. Also while they were repopulating the new world they got more followers from their own kids as well. They may of also taught the Native Americans as well. Anyway, I strongly agree that moving to the new world highly motivated religious freedom.

Reply
BrittanyR
9/9/2013 02:21:16 pm

Wow; I didn't think of it that way.

Reply
TMaas
9/10/2013 01:55:05 am

Wow DrayS! Way to hit the nail with using Native Americans. I would of never remembered what they were called till you said something. Your view of religion is very strong and I like how you go way back with it. I totally agree with what you have said. What you could have mentioned would be how the Natives were polytheistic. That would of blown some peoples minds on here.

Reply
BrittanyR
9/10/2013 10:18:53 am

TMaas, I had to look up what polytheistic meant so, I guess you could say my mind was blown.

LexyP
9/11/2013 08:47:12 am

I agree with you 100%. They got more religious faith by having children, and having their children believe in their faith as well. I like how you went into detail about the things that could happen when they repopulate!

Reply
CalvinM
9/16/2013 02:02:51 am

You make good points DrayS

Reply
TMaas
9/9/2013 01:41:39 am

With everyone having their own religious beliefs they can finally worship in their own manner. I'm all down for different religions. In fact I'm glad we have different religions it makes the world more interesting. Without religion there wouldn't be that many people in America. That's the reason why most races are here is because their ancestors came here to worship in their own way. I am proud of every religion that is taught around here. Catholic, Christian, or Prodestant I'm glad the religions are here!

Reply
BrittanyR
9/9/2013 02:25:32 pm

What a cool way to veiw different religions. It really helped me see things differently.

Reply
BenMcC
9/13/2013 03:31:57 am

I definatly agree but theirs alot of conflict that arises with other religions being so close.

Reply
LaurenB
9/10/2013 02:05:14 am

I believe in everybody having their religious freedom, but some of it is unnecessary. I don't like how back in the old days they would do sacrifices to humans or animals. Its sad to take away a life to please someone of a higher power; even though some people sacrifice their own life in honor I still think its wrong. I feel like there should be a limit to what they can and can't do. Sacrifices should definitely be illegal. Some countries should let people worship freely. Just because people don't worship the ground you walk on doesn't mean you have to kill them.

Reply
MolliF
9/10/2013 07:51:25 am

I agree with you're opinion. Animals especially shouldn't be sacrificed.

Reply
DrayS
9/11/2013 01:56:56 am

I totally agree with your assessment. Sacrifices are a rough thing and shouldn't be an objective unless with serious circumstances.

Reply
TMaas
9/11/2013 01:59:47 am

Dang LaurenB! I like how you think, but just because a religion does something you don't like doesn't mean it should be illegal. That is all they know, and thats why they came here to America so they can worship freely.

Reply
BrittanyR
9/12/2013 08:06:51 am

I'll have to agree with TylerM on this one.

BrittanyR
9/12/2013 08:02:51 am

I totally agree that human sacrafice is injust. However, in most religions animal sacrafices consits of things such as cows and lambs. These are animals they had raised to kill for food anyways. This is why in christianity Jesus Christ is refered to as the lamb of God. In fact he is also considered to be a part of God.

Reply
ChelsyQ
9/13/2013 03:05:52 am

Wow! LaurenB you really hit home on this one. I loved your answer you did a great job!

Reply
MolliF
9/10/2013 07:40:56 am

I think the main reason people did come to America was because of religious freedom and religious tolerance. Not maybe countries offered that making America the more dominant choice religious wise. I think it's good to have religious freedom because it made it easier for people to be themselves. Although, this isn't always a positive thing. It's not a positive thing because this lead to people competing on who's the better religion is. Back in that time, people had to go to church. Not going to church was frowned upon in many societies, unlike today, you can still be religious even if you do not attend church. Also, this time is known for being 'too' catholic so that's when the puritans came in trying to make things less catholic. Although religious freedom is a good thing it's not always a positive thing.

Reply
DrayS
9/11/2013 02:00:09 am

I agree with you MolliF. Sometimes not everything is going to be a positive thing and you really hit it.

Reply
LexyP
9/11/2013 08:50:18 am

I like the way you put it. No matter what they do there will always be conflicts on who has the better religion.

BrittanyR
9/12/2013 08:08:30 am

You are completely right in saying things are not always positive.

Reply
LaurenB
9/13/2013 01:53:11 am

MolliF, I really like how you got into detail with the religions. It makes me wonder wonder what the other religions are like to live through back in the day. I hardly go to church now and its not frowned upon, but I wonder how I would of handled it back then.

Reply
LexyP
9/11/2013 08:27:00 am

Everyone has a different perspective on religion. I think that people came to America not only for freedom, but for religious freedom also. Alot of the people we've read about used their opinion on religion to get them through life. They thought by moving to America that they would get to believe what they wanted to be without getting killed or punished. We as Americans have our own freedom of speech and actions. The people coming to America never had any sorts of freedom like us. That is why there is so many religious these days, and we care so fourtunate to live how we want to live!

Reply
LaurenB
9/12/2013 01:55:56 am

I like how you think LexyP! This makes me think differently on my views of sacrifice. Thank you.

Reply
DrayS
9/12/2013 03:05:22 am

LexyP what you said it super true! We Americans do have the fortune of living in this beautiful country without the discrimination of other people, so I agree with you fully!

Reply
ChelsyQ
9/13/2013 03:02:04 am

Wow! LexyP i agree with you 100% on this.

Reply
BrittanyR
9/14/2013 05:06:35 am

Yeah, religion is a pretty moving form of hope.

Reply
MasonW
9/17/2013 03:32:46 am

I definitely agree with you. while some people aren't religious at all there are many people that are very religious and they're both okay.

Reply
ChelsyQ
9/13/2013 02:59:57 am

The reason why they came to America was so that they were not persecuted for what they belived in. They also brought new ideas and schools to America. I feel like they brought new ideas for religons freedom also.

Reply
BrittanyR
9/14/2013 05:07:30 am

They did bring new ideas for religion here, you are completely right.

Reply
BenMcC
9/13/2013 03:27:45 am

Religious freedom drove the people coming to the new world because they needed a safe place to practice their religion. Were they can be alone with their beliefs and not be persecuted!!

Reply
BrittanyR
9/14/2013 05:09:28 am

Yeah they did need to be safe in their practice. I also like your use of excessive exclamation points!

Reply
CalvinM
9/16/2013 02:00:50 am

I completely agree.

Reply
CalvinM
9/16/2013 02:00:11 am

I believe people came to the new world to escape religious pressure and to have a chance at doing what they want.

Reply
MasonW
9/17/2013 03:30:03 am

I believe that religious freedom was the main reason people came to the new world. They were under rule of a king, who only wanted people to believe in one thing. That is the main reason people wanted to come to the new world.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.