Discuss who you believe holds the  most blame for the happenings in Salem.Be sure to include strong arguments. This is due on October 6 at midnight.
DrayS
9/25/2013 02:00:20 am

In all honesty, we can all agree on that the one person to blame for this whole thing is no other than Abigail. From the beginning all she ever wanted was John Proctor and was going to go to the ends of the earth to do it. After her little party out in the woods with her friends, she now has the whole entire town spooked of witchcraft and is using that to her advantage. She even tricked the town into thinking she was getting stabbed when Mary was sewing a poppet during session. She is also during court sessions pretending to be possessed by Mary so she can deceive the judges. Now since John confessed about his affair with her the court is also calling those two leechers, but it got shooed away when Elizabeth was questioned. All in all, Abigail is definitely a force not to be reckoned with and a person we should watch out throughout the play.

Reply
BrittanyR
9/30/2013 06:52:26 am

I totally agree with you DrayS! I like how you used key points from the play in your answer.

Reply
CalvinM
10/4/2013 02:51:47 am

I completely agree with you DrayS. I think you really got to the heart of the play.

Reply
ChelsyQ
10/6/2013 10:43:33 am

DrayS I believe you 100% on your answer. I loved how you used the whole play in your answer.

Reply
LexyP
10/7/2013 01:40:02 pm

I agree with you Dray! You are really good at explaining things!

MasonW
10/6/2013 12:08:26 pm

You made a very good point in your argument but I have to disagree. I believe that it is John Proctors fault. If John would not have cheated on his wife with Abigail, then Abigail would never have asked Tituba to wish for Goody proctor to die while they were in the woods. The whole party wouldn't have gone crazy and out of control and Rev. Paris wouldn't have seen them dancing naked. If Paris wouldn't have seen them Betty wouldn't have played dead and the word "witch" never would have even been brought up. All if john just would have been true to his wife

Reply
LaurenB
10/6/2013 12:59:58 pm

DrayS I partly agree with you on this. After reading TMaas' and MasonW's comment makes me see it differently. I dont think you are wrong in anyway. I just see how John Proctor is in everybodys answer when they blame Abby. So I feel like John is has the most to blame for. Even though Abby did make all those innocent people die. It could of been just the Proctor family and no one else, have he not had the affair with her.

Reply
TMaas
10/6/2013 01:38:57 pm

DrayS I cant believe I'm saying this, but I agree with you. Personally, in my mind I wish I could say that Abby is a lovely human being. But I would not hold true to that statement. I believe that Abby is to blame because she accuses everyone of being witches. Had she not accused everyone the witchcraft trials would not have gone to the extent that they did. Many people were to blame but Abby made everything much worse, may The Lord have mercy on her pitiful soul. It hurts me to see Abby accuse so many and make Salem go crazy. I still havent changed my opinoin about John Proctor being Abby's trigger to this maddness though.

Reply
BrittanyR
9/25/2013 07:57:25 am

I believe Abby is to blame for the happenings in Salem, because she always seemed to be there when things happened. She also was the one who people first believed a witch. She had slept with Mr. John Proctor, a married man, and rumors were spread that the reason Mr. Proctor's wife stopped attending church was because she didn't want to sit next to a woman so soiled.

Reply
TMaas
10/1/2013 02:04:45 am

I feel John Proctor is the one to blame for all of this. John could of helped his relationship and Abigail by just being abstinent. If John wouldn't of slept with Abigail, she would probably have not went crazy over him. There is a chance though that she could have gotten crazier by him not doing it. I still believe it is John's fault though. Due to his temptations that he could not control; he breaks his wife's heart and Abigail becomes a tramp. With Abigail becoming a tramp, I feel like she has lost feelings for those around her and only keeps feelings for John. With that being said that causes her to go crazy over John which makes her do all these bad things that are called "witchcraft". John also would have a better chance of living because he had no contact with the witch. If John had better control over his temptations none of this would've happened. John is the trigger for Abigail.

Reply
BrittanyR
10/1/2013 10:51:44 am

Wow, TMaas this gave me a whole new perspective. I never really thought of it that way. You are so right it is John's fault.

Reply
CalvinM
10/4/2013 02:53:27 am

I respectfully disagree with you Tmaas. Although John did mess up, Abby didn't have to get so many people killed to love John Proctor.

Reply
BrittanyR
10/5/2013 06:59:44 am

CalvinM I agree that Abby didn't have to get people killed to love Mr. Proctor, however I also see the point TMaas was trying to make. There was a chance that Abby could have gone crazy even without John's help but, if John had resisted his temptations what business would Abby have had in the woods when Paris found them? I do respect both of your opinions but both John and Abby are to blame.

DrayS
10/6/2013 08:42:35 am

TMaas I totally respect your opinion in all and it really opened my eyes. You give a new vibe on who the real enemy is! I am sorry though to say that I still believe Abigail is the true villain, so I respectively disagree.

Reply
ChelsyQ
10/6/2013 10:42:13 am

Although you had a made a really good statement I will have to disagree with you. John was at a bad time and Abby was there to make him feel young and then once he stopped it with Abby. She turned crazy and was blaming his wife for witchcraft and the people believed her.

Reply
MasonW
10/6/2013 11:57:55 am

I strongly agree with you. i believe if John would have just been able to control himself, none of this would have happened. Abigail is still not right for doing what she did but John is the reason that she did it all.

Reply
LaurenB
10/6/2013 01:14:31 pm

Wow TMaas and MasonW you made my thought process change! You guys really hit the target on this! You basically took every little detail and dug deeper within it. Thank you for letting me see what you guys see. It totally makes me want to know more about why Abby was so in love with John? The most important thing is I'm so glad you said that John is the trigger for Abby's actions TMaas! It brought a tingle down my spine.

Reply
HaleyL
10/1/2013 02:59:44 am

I believe Abby should be blamed. The only thing she wanted was John Proctor, and she would stop anyone that got in the way.She told the town that Elizabeth was a witch and she was doing witchcraft and Abby stabbed herself and told people it was Elizabeth.

Reply
CalvinM
10/4/2013 02:48:50 am

I think that Abby deserves all the blame. All of the girls lied but they were mostly afraid of Abby so they followed her.

Reply
DrayS
10/6/2013 08:43:43 am

I totally agree with you CalvinM! Abby is the reason why all this happened! Those girls should of stood up for themselves!

Reply
ShaunaJ
10/6/2013 06:23:16 am

I believe that Abby is the blame for most part of it. She has the people terrified of her witchcraft. The whole time while this play takes place she wants John Proctor the whole time. John also could be part of the blame. If this affair never would have took place differences would not have took place. All in all, Abigail is a sneaky person who should be watched here on out.

Reply
10/7/2013 12:56:06 pm

Reply
LexyP
10/7/2013 01:00:24 pm

I agree with Shauna! If John would of never got with Abigal, none of this would have happened. Both Abigal and John are at fault of the Salem witch trials.

Reply
ChelsyQ
10/6/2013 10:23:51 am

I believe that Abby was to be blame for the whole thing. Yeah John might have slept with Abby but at the end of the day Abby got the whole town to believe in witchcraft. If Abby would have just left John and his wife to be, then maybe the Salem witchcraft would have never happened.

Reply
MasonW
10/6/2013 11:55:45 am

I personally believe that the one to blame is John Proctor. if john never would have committed the sin of lechery with Abigail, then John never would have ended up where he did. This still doesn't put Abigail in the right in this situation though. If she wasn't so obsessive this might not have happened or gone as far as it did. For me, John Proctor is the one to blame. If he would have just controlled himself Abigail woulds not have been so obsessive and she would not have done what she did.

Reply
TMaas
10/6/2013 12:47:02 pm

MasonW using the word lechery lost me for a second! I agree with you 100% now that I understand. On a side note what if John would of stuck around with Abby? Do you think the trials would of went as far? I feel like if he did he would miss Elizabeth like crazy then have Abby hung somehow. With that being said he probably would have went crazy and killed himself or everyone else in Salem.

Reply
LaurenB
10/6/2013 11:59:26 am

I feel like Abby is the one to blame. She had the whole court fooled. By using her friends to go along with her act. Abby caused so much trouble in court. Her and her friends basically killed anybody who just didnt seem right. It was really unfair. They had so many people killed. It really bothers me. I just cant believe one person had so much control over all this.

Reply
LexyP
10/7/2013 12:54:31 pm

Abigal Williams is the cause of everything in the story. Not only did she have an affair with a married man, but she also lied to the court. She was the cause of all the witch craft but ended up blaming Tituba for eveything that happened in the woods. She made her friends lie about everything that happened. She was never going to give up on John, and she would do whatever it took to have him to herself. That is when she accused Elizabeth. John knows that he made a mistake, and he is taking the blame for everything. You never know, if they never would of had an affair then the Salem witch trials could of never happened. All this comes down to a small mistake that leads into a huge disaster.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.